EIG COVID-19 Update | April 3, 2020

Erickson Immigration Group continues to provide country by country updates with the various COVID-19 developments impacting global immigration and global travel. Past updates are available here.

Please consider sharing this email with colleagues and peers who would benefit from this information. We’re all in this together.


International Updates

Argentina | The country is beginning to open land borders for Argentines and foreign nationals. Initially, eight border crossings are open up to 500 people per day. The borders are Cristo Redentor (to Chile), Posadas (to Paraguay), Paso de Los Libres (to Brazil), San Sebastian (to Chile), Integración Austral (to Chile), Gualeguaychu (to Uruguay), Salvador Mazza (to Bolivia), and Clorinda (to Paraguay). All individuals arriving in the country must comply with the 14-day quarantine.

Australia | In a message on Friday, Prime Minister Scott Morrison warned people to continue to stay home to curb the spread of new coronavirus cases. For the first time since the Spanish flu, 100 years ago, states in Australia are implementing internal checkpoints at their borders to restrict movement to only essential purposes.

Denmark | Denmark, one of the first countries to implement a lockdown, is expected to introduce their plans to lessen restrictions this weekend. Earlier this week, the government said it would start to lift the lockdown after Easter.

EU | Ursula von der Leyen, European Commission president, said the European Union member states are determining whether to extend border closures after Easter.

Japan | Foreign nationals who are staying in Japan on a Temporary Visitor visa, which will expire by the end of June, will be able to continue to stay in Japan for up to 3 months from the expiration dates of the visa without applying for an extension.

Russia | The government has introduced a curfew, from 8 PM to 8 AM, for the region of Chechnya. The borders between Chechnya and Russia, by road, rail, and air, will close beginning on April 5. This is the first curfew in Russia in response to the coronavirus.

Slovenia | Beginning Saturday, April 4, Slovenia will require Slovenian citizens and foreign nationals entering the country to self-quarantine for 14 days. The mandated quarantine does not apply to people who are traveling for work, cargo traffic, or those passing through Slovenia to another destination within the same day.

Ukraine | On Friday, the government is banning gatherings of more than two people, asking everyone to wear masks, and carry identification. Regional authorities will establish border checkpoints for inspections, and all arrivals must self-quarantine for 14 days. Schools, restaurants, and other gathering places remain closed. The government said it hopes to decrease the restrictions later in the month.


Also, please listen to EIG’s Immigration Nerds podcast for this week in immigration, featuring policy updates from DOS, DHS, USCIS, and ICE.

We will continue to send updates daily or as more COVID-19-related news is available. We recognize this situation continues to evolve; if you have specific questions, please contact your employer or EIG attorney.