Croatia Joins US Visa Waiver Program

The Department of Homeland Security and Department of State have designated Croatia as a new participant in the Visa Waiver Program (VWP).

From December 1, 2021, the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) will allow citizens and nationals of Croatia to apply to travel to the United States for tourism or business for up to 90 days without obtaining a U.S. visa.

The VWP is a comprehensive security partnership between the United States and designated countries. To participate in the VWP, a country must meet requirements related to counterterrorism, law enforcement, immigration enforcement, document security, and border management on an ongoing basis.  These requirements include having a rate of nonimmigrant visa refusals below three percent, issuing secure travel documents, and working closely with U.S. law enforcement and counterterrorism authorities.


Erickson Insights

Croatia is now the 40th member of the United States’ Visa Waiver Program. ESTA authorizations are generally valid for two years.  Travelers with valid B1/B2 visas should continue to use their visa for travel to the United States.  For more information on ESTA applications, please visit the CBP ESTA website.