US | DHS Extends and Redesignates Somalia for TPS

On Friday, March 10, the Department of Homeland Security published a Federal Register Notice extending and redesignating Somalia for Temporary Protected Status (TPS). In January, DHS announced the extension and redesignation of Somalia for TPS for 18 months, effective from March 18, 2023, through September 17, 2024.

What to Expect?
  • The registration process begins on March 13.
  • All individuals who want to request TPS under Somalia’s designation must apply.
  • Current beneficiaries must re-register during the 60-day re-registration period from March 13, 2023 through May 9, 2023 to keep their TPS and work authorization.
  • Not all re-registrants may receive a new Employment Authorization Document (EAD) before their current EAD expires. DHS is automatically extending through March 17, 2024 the validity of certain EADs previously issued under Somalia’s TPS designation.
  • USCIS will continue to process pending applications filed under Somalia’s previous TPS designation. Individuals with a pending Form I-821, Application for Temporary Protected Status, or a related Form I-765, Application for Employment Authorization, as of March 13, 2023, do not need to file either application again. If USCIS approves a pending Form I-821 or Form I-765 filed under the previous designation of TPS for Somalia, USCIS will grant the individual TPS through September 17, 2024, and issue an EAD valid through the same date.

The extension of Somalia for TPS allows approximately 430 current beneficiaries to retain TPS through September 17, 2024, as long as they meet TPS eligibility requirements. The redesignation of TPS for Somalia allows approximately 2,200 Somali nationals (or individuals who have no nationality who last habitually resided in Somalia) who have resided in the United States as of January 11, 2023, to file initial applications to obtain TPS if they are otherwise eligible.


Erickson Insights

Currently, the following countries are designated for TPS: Afghanistan, Burma (Myanmar), Cameroon, El Salvador, EthiopiaHaitiHonduras, Nepal, NicaraguaSomaliaSouth SudanSudanSyria, UkraineVenezuela, and Yemen.

Erickson Immigration Group will continue to share updates as more news is available. If you have questions about anything we’re reporting or case-specific questions, please contact your employer or EIG attorney.