The US to Restrict Travel from India Starting May 4

India is experiencing a significant second spike in COVID-19 infections. In response, the United States and several countries around the world are suspending, limiting, or advising against travel to and from India.

At this link is an evolving list of these restrictions, which will be updated as governments evolve their restrictions.

On Friday, the Biden administration announced that the United States would restrict travel from India beginning on Tuesday, May 4 at 12:01 am ET. This is in response to the high COVID-19 infection rate and evidence of virus variants across the country.

According to sources, the Biden administration will issue a 212(f) order to restrict entry into the US for foreign nationals who have been in India within the previous 14 days. American citizens, lawful permanent residents, humanitarian workers, and certain other people will be exempted from the policy. These travelers will still have to test negative before leaving India and test again after arrival to the US. If they are not vaccinated, they will be required to quarantine.

White House press secretary Jen Psaki said, “On the advice of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the Administration will restrict travel from India starting immediately. The policy will be implemented in light of extraordinarily high COVID-19 caseloads and multiple variants circulating in India. The policy will take effect on Tuesday, May 4.”

The World Health Organization (WHO) reports that India accounts for 38% of global cases of coronavirus.

Erickson Immigration Group will continue to send updates as more news is available. If you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or case-specific questions, please contact your employer or EIG attorney.