The Third and Most Recent Travel Ban Went into Effect

The Supreme Court of the United States has allowed the third and latest version of the Travel Ban to take effect as of Monday, December 4, 2017, while legal challenges to its constitutionality continue in lower federal courts. This travel ban imposes travel restrictions on most citizens from Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, Somalia, Chad, and North Korea, as well as on certain groups of people from Venezuela. Iraqi nationals are not subject to travel restrictions, but will still be subjected to higher scrutiny. The Supreme Court also will not hear legal arguments on the second Travel Ban since key provisions have now expired.