The EU Ends Travel Ban for Southern African Countries

On Monday, January 10, the European Union ended the travel ban imposed on southern African countries on November 26, 2021. The 27 Member States have also agreed to lift the ban and resume air travel between their country and the southern African countries. Some EU countries, including Germany and Norway, had already canceled the travel ban.

In November, the travel ban on southern African countries attempted to stop the spread of the Omicron variant within the EU. However, the Omicron variant is now the predominant variant across Europe and the world, and the travel ban is no longer preventative.

Erickson Insights

The COVID-19 pandemic is rapidly evolving, and guidance from government agencies and health advisories change often.

Erickson Immigration Group will continue to send updates as more news is available. If you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or case-specific questions, please contact your employer or EIG attorney.