State Department Extends Expired Passport Policy

On March 23, the State Department announced that U.S. citizens currently abroad whose passports expired on or after January 1, 2020, may be able to use their expired U.S. passport for return travel to the United States until June 30, 2022.

The announcement extends this temporary measure intended to lessen ongoing travel difficulties created by the global COVID-19 pandemic. However, certain criteria apply, and the State Department encourages U.S. citizens to confirm their eligibility online for traveling on an expired passport before finalizing travel arrangements.

Erickson Insights

Erickson Immigration Group will continue to share updates as more news is available. If you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or case-specific questions, please contact your EIG attorney.