Sri Lanka Adopts New eVisa Scheme

Sri Lanka has transitioned from the ETA system to a new eVisa scheme. All visitors must complete an eVisa application prior to their arrival in the country.

Who Can Apply?
All eligible nationalities planning to enter Sri Lanka, whether by air or sea, for the purposes of tourism, business, or transit must apply for the new eVisa.
Nationals of Nigeria, Cameroon, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Syria and North Korea are required to apply for a visa through the Sri Lankan embassy or through the Department of Immigration & Emigration, Sri Lanka. Below are the documents required:
  • Police Clearance report.
  • If the applicant is coming from another country after staying for more than 6 months, are required to provide Police clearance from that country and copy of the Visa.
  • Certificate from a Sri Lankan guarantor & a photocopy of the guarantors NIC.
  • Affidavit from a Sri Lankan JP (Justice of Peace) or a Lawyer.
  • Accommodation information (Place of stay)
Nationals of Taiwan would need to select People’s Republic of China (Special Administrative Region of China) as their nationality while applying for the eVisa.
Nationals of Kosovo are eligible for Visa On Arrival only.
Visa Exemptions
On the basis of reciprocity, citizens of The Republic of Singapore, The Republic of Maldives, The Republic of Seychelles and The Czech Republic are exempt from the requirement of obtaining a tourist standard 6-month eVisa to visit Sri Lanka.
All nationals are eligible for an eVisa waiver, if transiting from any of the Sri Lankan airports. Waiver is valid for a 2 day transit period only.
Erickson Insights & Analysis

Erickson Immigration Group will continue to monitor developments and share updates as more news is available. Please contact your employer or EIG attorney if you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or case-specific questions.