South Korea Temporarily Exempts 22 Countries from K-ETA

The Korea Electronic Travel Authorization (K-ETA), an online electronic travel authorization that visa-free foreign visitors need to obtain before entering the Republic of Korea for tourism, visiting relatives, participating in events or meetings, and business purposes other than profitable activities, will be temporarily exempted to 22 countries/regions starting from April 1, 2023, to December 31, 2024.

Countries/regions eligible for K-ETA temporary exemption (as of April 1, 2023)
  • Asia: Hong Kong, Japan, Macao, Singapore, Taiwan
  • Americas: Canada, US (including Guam)
  • Europe: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Spain, Sweden, UK
  • Oceania: Australia, New Zealand

The exemption is part of a plan to support the revitalization of the tourism industry.

If a traveler who is eligible for K-ETA temporary exemption wants to apply for K-ETA to receive benefits such as not having to submit an arrival card upon entry, they may apply for K-ETA and pay the fee. All previously approved K-ETA will remain valid until its expiry date.

Erickson Insights

Erickson Immigration Group will continue to share updates as more news is available. If you have questions about anything we’re reporting or case-specific questions, please contact your employer or EIG attorney.