Recent Trump Administration Memo Targets Nations with High Rates of Visa Overstays

Update: President Donald Trump issued a memorandum on Monday, April 22 that aims to force compliance from countries whose nationals consistently overstay valid travel and business visas. Per a 2018 report by the Department of Homeland Security (DHS), the countries that fall into this category are mostly in Africa or the Middle East, including:

  • Angola
  • Burundi
  • Chad
  • The Republic of the Congo
  • Djibouti
  • Eritrea
  • Liberia
  • Nigeria
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan

Department leaders from the DHS and Justice have 120 days to present strategies to reduce visa overstays. Recommendations may include restrictions or bans on the entry of nationals from the countries mentioned above. Leaders were also tasked with requiring nationals to post bonds to encourage them to leave the U.S. before their visas expire.

While it is still unclear what tactics will be implemented to reduce visa overstays, EIG will continue to monitor and provide analysis of any immigration initiatives, policy updates, and memorandum releases. Stay tuned.