Ireland Extends Suspension of Visa-Free Entry for Refugees

The Irish government has extended the suspension of visa-free entry for people with refugee status for at least another 12 months.

The suspension of the European Agreement on the Abolition of Visas for Refugees (Council of Europe) means that refugees currently require a visa to travel to Ireland, rather than only a Convention Travel Document.

The suspension, introduced for an initial 12 months in July 2022, will next be reviewed by Ireland’s Department of Justice and Department of Foreign Affairs in July 2024.

Signatory countries to the European Agreement issue Convention Travel Documents to refugees, which allows the holders of these documents to travel to other signatory countries without the need of a visa or prior clearance for the purpose of visiting that country for up to three months.

Erickson Insights & Analysis

The visa exemption applies to holders of a Convention Travel Document issued by Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovak Republic, Spain, Sweden, or Switzerland.

The visa-waiver arrangements for people fleeing the war in Ukraine remains unaffected.

Erickson Immigration Group will continue to share updates as more news is available. If you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or case-specific questions, please contact your employer or EIG attorney.