Ireland Updates Mandatory Hotel Quarantine Requirements

In late March, the government announced that travel to Ireland from specified countries and regions would require a mandatory hotel quarantine. As of April 15 at 4 AM, 16 new countries will be added to the mandatory hotel quarantine list.

The additional countries to be added to the list are Bangladesh, Belgium, France, Italy, Kenya, Luxembourg, Pakistan, Turkey, the USA, Canada, Armenia, Bermuda, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Curaçao, Maldives, and Ukraine.

Albania, Israel, and St. Lucia have been removed from the list.

The full list of designated countries is now available here.

There is some speculation that vaccinated persons may become exempt from the requirement to hotel quarantine, but we will let you know if this occurs.
Ireland COVID-19 testing requirements

It will also be required from this week that passengers flying in from non-high-risk countries book an appointment for a COVID-19 test through the Health Service Executive (HSE) on the fifth day after their arrival (in addition to the requirement to take a test within the 72 hours before their arrival).
Visa Suspension Extension

The visa requirements for passport holders from some South American countries and from South Africa, as well as the decision to temporarily cease accepting all new visa/preclearance applications (except for Priority/Emergency cases), have been extended to at least May 5, 2021.


Erickson Immigration Group will continue to send updates as more news is available. If you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or case-specific questions, please contact your employer or EIG attorney.