Indonesia Limits Visa-Free Visit Policy

The Ministry of Law and Human Rights of Indonesia has clarified that the visa-free visit policy previously applicable to 169 nationalities now only applies to the 10 countries from the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), including Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor Leste, and Vietnam.

Nationals of the remaining 159 countries are now eligible for an electronic visa on arrival (e-voa).

The visa-free policy was temporarily suspended during the COVID-19 pandemic but is now cancelled for all except nationals of the 10 ASEAN countries.

Erickson Insights

Erickson Immigration Group will continue to share updates as more news is available. If you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or case-specific questions, please contact your employer or EIG attorney.