“Gang of Eight” to Release Immigration Bill Tomorrow

The “Gang of Eight” is set to release its comprehensive immigration reform bill tomorrow, April 16, 2013.  The group includes Sen. Michael Bennet, R-Colorado, Sen. Marco Rubio, R-Florida, Sen. Lindsey Graham, R-South Carolina; Sen. John McCain, R-Arizona; Sen. Jeff Flake, R-Arizona; Sen. Robert Menendez, D-New Jersey; Sen. Dick Durbin, D-Illinois; and Sen. Chuck Schumer, D-New York.

Some details of the bill have been leaked, including a robust government plan to secure the US/Mexico border, a mandatory E-Verify-like program for all US employers, and a 10 year pathway to lawful permanent residency status for certain undocumented individuals currently residing in the US.

When the details of the plan are released tomorrow, you will receive a comprehensive summary from Zelnick & Erickson.