EU | EES is Delayed to End of the Year

The EU has delayed the implementation of the Entry-Exit System (EES) until the end of the year.

When the EES goes into effect, U.S. citizens and other visa-free citizens traveling to EU and Schengen member countries (besides Croatia, Cyprus, and Ireland) will need to first register with the Entry/Exit System (EES).

The EES will be an automated IT system for registering travelers from third countries, both short-stay visa holders and visa-exempt travelers, each time they cross the borders of European countries using the EES. The system is intended to improve security and enforcement of the 90/180 rule, which says that travelers can only stay in the Schengen Zone for 90 days in any 180-day period.

The system will register the person’s name, type of travel document, biometric data (fingerprints and captured facial images), and the date and place of entry and exit. It will also record refusals of entry.

Erickson Insights

For now, a helpful FAQ can be found here. Erickson Immigration Group will continue to share updates as more news is available. If you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or case-specific questions, please contact your employer or EIG attorney.