EIG US and Global COVID Update | April 22, 2021

With our mission to uncomplicate the complicated, we’ve always thought of our work in immigration as people-first. Our goal is for these updates to make sense of the changes happening across the world. Please share these updates with your colleagues who may find this information helpful, too.

International Updates

The United States | On Monday, the State Department issued a Travel Advisory Update strongly urging US citizens to reconsider their international travel plans. In the update, the State Department said it would begin updating travel advisories in line with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) Travel Health Notices. This will result in approximately 80% of the countries worldwide being labeled “Level 4: Do Not Travel.” The change in levels “does not imply a reassessment of the current health situation in a given country, but rather reflects an adjustment in the State Department’s Travel Advisory system to rely more on CDC’s existing epidemiological assessments.”

Erickson Immigration Group will provide more information as it becomes available.

United States, Canada, and Mexico | On Tuesday, the US and Canada announced they would extend the current land-border closure for non-essential travel until May 21. Air passengers arriving into Canada from the United States will continue to be tested and will be required to complete their quarantine at a designated hotel.

The land-border restrictions between the US and Mexico for non-essential travel are extended to May 21 for the border states in the top two tiers of coronavirus risk levels. Currently, that is only the state of Chihuahua. Mexico’s southern border will also remain closed to non-essential travel until May 21.

Australia | Following the successful reopening of quarantine-free travel between Australia and New Zealand, the government is considering other countries to extend the same travel relationship to, with Singapore at the top of the list.

Australia’s Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Transport Michael McCormack said, “Hopefully more travel bubbles will be able to be opened up with perhaps Singapore, (and) who knows, Japan, South Korea, South Pacific island nations.”

Outside of the bubble, entry to Australia is permitted for only Australian citizens, residents, and their families. They are required to complete a 14-day quarantine. Australian citizens are not allowed to leave the country without a government-approved exemption.

Canada | Canada has announced a new pathway to permanent residence for more than 90,000 essential healthcare and frontline workers and international graduates who currently live in Canada and who possess the critical skills and experience needed to address the COVID-19 pandemic and support Canada’s economic recovery. Read more >> 

France | From April 24, there will be a required 10-day quarantine for travelers coming from Brazil. Flights to and from Brazil are suspended until April 23. From April 24, only French residents or those with a French or EU passport will be allowed to fly to France from Brazil. These measures will also be applied to travelers returning from Argentina, Chile, and South Africa.

Greece | From April 19, the quarantine requirements are disbanded for travelers who are vaccinated or test negative for COVID-19. Citizens from the European Union, Israel, Serbia, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, and the United States who meet the testing or vaccination requirement can enter Greece without quarantining for 10 days.

Italy | From April 19 until at least April 30, travelers from countries in lists D and E must undergo a swab (molecular or antigenic) test within 48 hours before entry into Italy and with a negative result. Upon arrival, travelers will be required to quarantine for 10 days, reduced from 14 days. Following the 10 day quarantine period, travelers will need to undergo another molecular or antigenic test.

Singapore | In response to the spike of COVID-19 cases in India, effective immediately, the government reduces entry approval for non-Singapore citizens or Permanent Residents with a travel history in India.

The United Kingdom | The United Kingdom has added India to its “Red List,” designating that most travel to the UK from India is banned.

From Friday, April 23, most people who have traveled from India within the 10 days before arriving in the UK will not be allowed to enter. The exception to the entry ban applies to British or Irish passport holders and UK residents. These travelers will be permitted to enter but will be required to quarantine for 10 days in a government hotel.

Travelers who arrive in the UK before Friday, April 23, at 4 am will be required to self-isolate for 10 days at their destination and take a COVID-19 test on days 2 and 8. Read more >>

We will continue to send updates daily or as more COVID-19-related news is available. If you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or in past updates or want to hear more about a different topic, just reply to let us know. If you have specific questions, please contact your employer or EIG attorney.