EIG COVID-19 Update | October 9, 2020

With our mission to uncomplicate the complicated, we’ve always thought of our work in immigration as people-first. Our goal is for these updates to make sense of the changes happening across the world. Please share these updates with your colleagues who may find this information helpful, too.

International Updates

EU | On Friday, the EU member nations agreed to a common system for ongoing COVID-19 testing, quarantine, and closures.  All regions will be designated green, orange, or red based on current virus levels. Countries with insufficient data will be grey.  Under this agreement, all countries would permit visitors from green zones.

The “traffic light” system aims to have all 27 members using the same language and following the same standard.

Green zones will have fewer than 25 infections per 100,000 people and a percentage of positive tests below 4% over 14 days. The plan is to be formally adopted next week.

Italy | From October 8 (Ministry of Health order, October 7, 2020), travelers from Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Spain, The Netherlands, and the United Kingdom or who have stayed/transited there in the last 14 days, are subject to mandatory molecular/antigenic COVID-19 testing on arrival or must present a negative test result taken within the last 72 hours. All travelers are required to complete self-declaration forms and communicate their arrival to health authorities. The mandatory test is no longer required for travelers from Croatia, Greece, and Malta.
Case Update: 4,458 confirmed cases. Last updated: 2020/10/9 4:00 PM CEST

Jordan | Beginning today, the country is under a 48-hour nationwide lockdown following a significant rise in coronavirus infections.
Case Update: 1,317 confirmed cases. Last updated: 2020/10/9 4:00 PM CEST

Oman | The government is reissuing a curfew, from October 11 – 24 and from 8 PM to 5 AM.
Case Update: 664 confirmed cases. Last updated: 2020/10/9 4:00 PM CEST

Switzerland | Health authorities have added new countries and regions to the list of places from which travelers would have to do a 10-day quarantine.  The current list includes Canada, Georgia, Iran, Jordan, Russia, Slovakia, Tunisia, and regions of Austria (Burgenland, Salzburg), Germany (Berlin and Hamburg), and Italy (Campania, Sardinia, and Veneto). The new requirement takes effect on Monday.
Case Update: 1,169 confirmed cases. Last updated: 2020/10/9 4:00 PM CEST


On Tuesday, October 6, the Department of Labor and the Department of Homeland Security released two major regulations that will overhaul the guest worker program, largely targeting wage and degree requirements for specialty occupations.

In this week’s Immigration Nerds podcast, Erickson Immigration Group Managing Attorney Christine Annand explains how these two new rules are likely to play out for employers, employees, and visa petitioners.


We will continue to send updates daily or as more COVID-19-related news is available. If you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or in past updates or want to hear more about a different topic, just reply to let us know. If you have specific questions, please contact your employer or EIG attorney.