DHS Designates Burma for Temporary Protected Status

On Friday, March 12, Secretary Mayorkas designated Burma for temporary protected status for 18 months. Only individuals who are already residing in the United States are eligible for TPS. Individuals who can demonstrate continuous residence in the United States as of March 11, 2021, are eligible for TPS under Burma’s designation. In addition to demonstrating continuous residence in the United States since March 11, 2021, initial applicants for TPS under this designation must meet other eligibility criteria, which will be detailed in a forthcoming Federal Register notice.