Coronavirus Update: State Department Upgrades China Travel Warning to Level 4, Do Not Travel

On January 30, 2020, the World Health Organization declared that the Coronavirus constitutes a Public Health Emergency of International Concern. As a response, the US State Department upgraded its China travel warning to Level 4: Do Not Travel.

Several countries, including the UK, Canada, France, and India have issued similar travel advisories to China. It has also been reported that countries have also started to limit entry for Chinese nationals, including the Philippines, Singapore, Mongolia, Russia, Sri Lanka, and Malaysia, among others.

EIG continues to recommend suspending any travel plans to China per the State Department’s travel advisory. Many airlines have also suspended travel in and out of China.


Previous Updates from January 23 and January 24