China Expands Visa-Free Transit Policy

China has extended its 72/144-hour transit visa-free policies to visitors from seven more countries. From November 17 nationals from Norway, and from December 1, nationals from France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, and Malaysia, will be allowed to enter China for up to 15 days without a visa.

The trial program will be in effect for one year.

The updated list below of eligible countries is as follows:

  • Europe: Albania, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, the Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and Ukraine;
  • The Americas: Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Mexico, and the United States;
  • Oceania: Australia and New Zealand;
  • Asia: Brunei, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Qatar, Singapore, and the United Arab Emirates.
Erickson Insights

Erickson Immigration Group will continue monitoring developments and sharing updates as more news is available. Please contact your employer or EIG attorney if you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or case-specific questions.