BREAKING NEWS: Trump Signs Order Restricting Travelers From China

President Donald Trump signed an order for the U.S. to deny entry to all foreign nationals who have traveled to China within the past two weeks, aside from the immediate family of U.S. citizens. This order goes into effect on February 2nd at 5 pm. Any U.S. citizens who have been in China’s Hubei province within the last 14 days “will be subject to up to 14 days of mandatory quarantine to ensure they’re provided proper medical care and health screening.” LPRs may also be able to reenter but also may be subject to quarantine. Incoming flights from China will be limited to only seven airports – San Francisco International Airport, Los Angeles International Airport, Seattle – Tacoma, New York’s John F. Kennedy International Airport, Atlanta Hartsfield – Jackson, Honolulu International and Chicago’s O’Hare — beginning Sunday.

What this means: Any foreign national, regardless of country of birth and immigration status, will not be permitted to return to the U.S. if they have traveled to any part of China within the last 2 weeks. No clarification on when this restriction will end. 

Foreign Nationals in China now or in the last 2 weeks: Beginning Sunday, February 2 at 5 pm, these individuals will not be permitted to return to the U.S. until this restriction is lifted.

Employees transiting through China: unclear.

EIG will provide additional updates as they become available.