As Cases Spike, Countries Restrict Travel from India | Updated

India is experiencing a significant second spike in COVID-19 infections. In response, several countries around the world are suspending, limiting, or advising against travel to and from India.

This list was originally published on April 22 and has been updated as governments evolve their restrictions.

Australia | Prime Minister Scott Morrison announced that Australia is reducing flights from India by 30%. Passengers arriving from India will need to present a PCR COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours before arrival.

Canada (Updated) | From April 22, all passenger flights from India and Pakistan are banned for 30 days. On May 21, the Health Agency of Canada extended the suspension until June 21.

France | According to the Associated Press, the government will issue entry restrictions on travelers from India. Currently, there is a 10-day quarantine requirement for travelers arriving from India.

Germany (Updated) | From Monday, April 26, 2021, entry to Germany from India, even with a valid visa, is generally banned for passengers who have visited India during the last 10 days. Few exemptions apply for German Nationals and their accompanying close family members (spouse and children), residents of Germany, holding a valid residence permit (a visa is not sufficient), crews and essential workers in transportation, public health and medicine, humanitarian causes, diplomatic work and their immediate family, and international transit. The German embassies in India have closed the visa section until further notice. Applicants whose appointments have to be canceled will be contacted directly by the Embassy or VFS Global. New appointments cannot be booked at the moment. The Embassy will continue to provide emergency services for German citizens.

Hong Kong | From April 20, passenger flights from India are banned for 14 days.

Israel | On April 22, the government issued an advisory to citizens, including those who have recovered from COVID-19 and have been vaccinated, to refrain from traveling to India as well as Brazil, Ethiopia, Mexico, South Africa, Turkey, and Ukraine.

New Zealand | From April 11 to April 28, New Zealand has suspended entry for all travelers who have been in India within the past 14 days. Additionally, the Government has created a new ‘very high risk’ country category. From April 28, travelers to New Zealand from very high-risk countries (Brazil, India, Pakistan, and Papua New Guinea) will be temporarily restricted to New Zealand citizens, their partners and children, and parents of children who are New Zealand citizens. Travelers must do a PCR COVID-19 test within 72 hours before departure.

Oman | From April 24 onward, there is a complete ban on incoming travel from India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh.

Pakistan | On Monday, April 19, the government issued a two-week entry ban for air and land routes.

Singapore (Updated) | Effective April 23 at 11:59 PM, all long-term pass holders and short-term visitors who have traveled to India within the last 14 days will not be allowed to enter or transit through Singapore. This includes anyone who has received prior approval to enter the country.

Individuals with a travel history to India already in Singapore who have not completed their 14-day stay-home notice (SHN) by 11:59 PM on Thursday will have to complete an additional 7-day SHN at a dedicated facility instead of their place of residence.

Thailand (Updated) | From May 1, all COEs that have been issued to non-Thai nationals to enter into Thailand from India will be canceled. The issuance of COEs for non-Thai nationals to arrive in Thailand from India from May 1, 2021 onwards is suspended until further notice. When the suspension is lifted, travelers will need to apply for a new COE. However, for the visa, if it is still valid at the time of permission, it can still be used. Otherwise, a new visa application must also be filed prior to obtaining a new COE and entering Thailand.

The United Arab Emirates | From Sunday, April 25, travel from India is banned for 10 days, subject to review after the 10 days are completed. Additionally, passengers who have transitted through India in the past 14 days will not be permitted to board from any other port to the UAE.

The United Kingdom | The UK government added India to its “Red List” of countries. From Friday, April 23, most people who have traveled from India within the 10 days prior to arriving in the UK will not be allowed to enter. The exception to the entry ban applies to British or Irish passport holders and UK residents. These travelers will be permitted to enter but will be required to quarantine for 10 days in a government hotel. Read more >> 

The United States | The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has issued an advisory noting that even people fully vaccinated run the risk of contracting and spreading the disease in India.

The U.S. Consulate General in Mumbai is only providing essential services to U.S. citizens and limited and emergency nonimmigrant and immigrant visa services until further notice.

The U.S. Embassy New Delhi’s in-person visa appointments and interview-waiver appointments are canceled from April 26 – May 9. The New Delhi VAC is able to honor emergency biometrics appointments only.  Emergency services for U.S. citizens will continue.

The consulates in Chennai, Hyderabad, and Kolkata continue to offer limited visa appointments but may cancel certain appointments as local conditions require.


Erickson Immigration Group will continue to send updates as more news is available. If you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or case-specific questions, please contact your employer or EIG attorney.