Update: Six Countries Added to Travel Ban

The Trump Administration has expanded the travel ban to include six additional countries. Citizens from Nigeria, Eritrea, Myanmar, and Kyrgyzstan will not be allowed to apply for visas to immigrate to the U.S., and the U.S. gov’t will suspend the issuance of visas that can lead to permanent residency.

The targeted immigrant visas by this latest version of the ban are distinct from non-immigrant visitor visas, which are not impacted. Additionally, Sudan and Tanzania will be barred from participating in the diversity visa lottery. This takes the total number of countries impacted by Trump’s Travel Ban up to 13.

EIG is monitoring this situation and will continue to provide updates as the situation develops.