UK Updates Travel Traffic Light System in Advance of Freedom Day

The UK government has updated its travel lists, with the changes to go into effect on Monday, July 19 at 4 am.

Changes in the Country Categories
  • Bulgaria and Hong Kong will be on the green list.
  • Croatia and Taiwan will be on the green watchlist. Green watchlist countries are those that are at risk of moving from green to amber. 
  • Balearic Islands and the British Virgin Islands will be on the amber list.
  • Cuba, Indonesia, Myanmar, and Sierra Leone will be on the red list.

The green, amber, and red lists are updated every 3 weeks.

As previously reported, from July 19, travelers coming from amber regions who are fully vaccinated with an NHS vaccine, will not need to quarantine on arrival in England or take a COVID-19 test on day 8. As well, the government will no longer recommend against travel to amber list countries.

Travel Guidance

There are specific conditions for travelers based on where they come from or transit through (red, amber, or green).

Additionally, all travelers are required to take a pre-departure test and complete a passenger locator form.

Background & Analysis

From May 17, the ‘Stay in the UK’ campaign imposed a red, green, and amber traffic light system, with varying requirements depending on recent travel history. EIG advises clients to continue to monitor the UK travel guidance as it is frequently updated.


Erickson Immigration Group will continue to send updates as more news is available. If you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or case-specific questions, please contact your employer or EIG attorney.