Sri Lanka Announces Free Tourist Visa Pilot for Certain Countries

Sri Lanka’s Department of Immigration and Emigration has announced the issuance of free tourist visas to travelers from China, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Russia, and Thailand with the aim of boosting the tourism sector.
What to Expect
  • The free tourism visa is a pilot program.
  • The visas will be valid for 30 days, and the program will be in force until March 31, 2024.
  • Travelers will have dual entry status upon arrival.
Erickson Insights

Erickson Immigration Group will continue monitoring developments and sharing updates as more news is available. Please contact your employer or EIG attorney if you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or case-specific questions.