Spain to Reopen for Tourism and Non-Essential Travel in June

Prime Minister Pedro Sanchez announced that vaccinated tourists, regardless of their country of origin, will be allowed to enter Spain from June 7.

Currently, tourists from lower-risk countries — Australia, China, Israel, South Korea, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, and Thailand — and most places in the European Union may enter without health restrictions, testing, or quarantine requirements.

From May 24, restrictions on non-essential travel from the United Kingdom and Japan were lifted.

Prior to the pandemic, Spain was the second most popular tourist destination in the world, and tourism accounted for 12% of the economy.

What to Expect if Traveling
  • All travelers must complete a Health Control Form (HCF), which can be completed via the Spain Travel Health website or app. It will generate a QR code which must be shown on arrival in the country.
  • Travelers from ‘risk‘ countries for essential reasons must take a COVID-19 PCR test within 72 hours of departure and show proof of a negative result on entry. This list of countries changes regularly and should be checked before travel.
  • Health assessments take place on arrival in Spain, with a temperature check and visual examination as standard. Travelers from Brazil and South Africa are being given an antigen test at the airport.


Erickson Immigration Group will continue to send updates as more news is available. If you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or case-specific questions, please contact your employer or EIG attorney.