Singapore Modifies Entry Requirements for Most Travelers

From Thursday, September 9, 23:59, all travelers into Singapore from Category II, III, and IV countries will need to produce a negative pre-departure COVID-19 PCR test result taken within 48 hours before leaving for Singapore, as compared to the initial 72 hours.

  • Category I countries/regions are Hong Kong, Macao, Mainland China, and Taiwan which are places with the lowest risk of COVID-19 transmission.
  • Category II countries are Australia, Brunei, Canada, Germany, New Zealand, and South Korea which have similar Covid-19 risk profiles to Singapore.
  • Category III countries are Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Saudi Arabia, Sweden, and Switzerland;
  • Category IV consists of all other countries and regions, which are deemed to be at higher risk of Covid-19 infections;
  • Travelers from Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka are still not allowed to enter Singapore until further notice.

Travelers from Category III countries who are fully vaccinated may apply to opt-out of serving their 14-day SHN at government dedicated facilities, and do so at their place of residence instead, as long as they were in their countries for 21 days prior to their travel to Singapore, and isolating alone or with members from the same household.

Travelers who are unvaccinated or do not fulfill any of the above conditions will have to isolate in dedicated SHN facilities.

For more information, please refer to the table below:


Erickson Insights

Singapore has maintained strict travel restrictions to stop the spread of COVID-19 and has also had a successful vaccination campaign reaching nearly 80% of the population.

Erickson Immigration Group will continue to send updates as more news is available. If you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or case-specific questions, please contact your employer or EIG attorney.