Russia | Changes to Expand the E-Visa Program Announced

Under a draft plan reportedly approved by President Vladimir Putin, Russia plans to expand its e-visa program starting on January 1, 2021. The list of countries whose citizens will be eligible to apply for the e-visa will be confirmed by the government separately. The list most likely will include citizens of the EU countries. The UK, Canada, and the United States may not be included on the approved list.  The new e-visa will permit visits of up to 16 days for tourist and business travel and will allow mobile-based applications.