EU Recommends Reinstating Travel Restrictions for US Travelers

On August 30, the EU revised its list of “safe” third countries for which travel restrictions should be lifted. In doing so, Israel, Kosovo, Lebanon, Montenegro, the Republic of North Macedonia, and the United States were removed from the safe list.

The guidance is nonbinding and EU members have the authority to decide their border policies. Tourists from countries not on the safe list should be prepared that restrictions may vary throughout the EU.

The current list of EU safe countries includes Albania, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, China, Japan, Jordan, New Zealand, Qatar, Republic of Moldova, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, and Ukraine.


Erickson Insights

The EU regularly reviews the list of safe countries and updates as needed. Travelers to the EU should check the destination country’s travel requirements before traveling as restrictions may vary within the EU. Erickson Immigration Group will continue to share updates as more news is available. If you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or case-specific questions, please contact your employer or EIG attorney.