EU Commission Publishes Guidelines for Partial Visa Suspension for Select Russians

On May 5, the European Union’s Commission issued a statement guiding Member States’ visa-issuing authorities in Russia and elsewhere to suspend visa services for specific categories of persons:

  • citizens who are members of Russia’s official delegations
  • members of Russia’s national and regional Governments and Parliaments
  • Russia’s Constitutional Court and Supreme Court
  • Holder of Russian Federation valid diplomatic passports
  • Russian businesspeople and representatives of business organizations

According to the recommended guidelines, individuals in any of the above categories would no longer have privileged access to the EU.

The guidance does not apply to all Russian citizens, and visas will still be issued on humanitarian grounds.


Erickson Insights

The proposed guidance follows earlier sanctions issued by governments to limit visa issuance and renewals.

Erickson Immigration Group will continue to share updates as more news is available. If you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or case-specific questions, please contact your EIG attorney.