On Wednesday, the European Union governments agreed to include Japan on the select list of countries from where non-essential travel can originate. The new guidance is expected to go into effect in the coming days.

Currently, non-essential travel from outside the EU is permitted only from Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, South Korea, and Thailand.

Individual countries within the EU can still implement public health measures including testing on arrival, proof of testing, and quarantine.

Erickson Immigration Group will continue to send updates as more news is available. If you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or case-specific questions, please contact your employer or EIG attorney.