EIG US and Global Update | January 28, 2021

With our mission to uncomplicate the complicated, we’ve always thought of our work in immigration as people-first. Our goal is for these updates to make sense of the changes happening across the world. Please share these updates with your colleagues who may find this information helpful, too.

International Updates

European Union | The EU has removed Japan from the list of countries exempt from the COVID-related restrictions of testing and quarantine. That list now includes Australia, China, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, South Korea, and Thailand.

Germany | Interior Minister Seehofer said that the country may ban travelers from Brazil, Britain, Portugal, and South Africa.

Ireland | The government has announced the introduction of additional, short-term restrictions for travelers arriving in Ireland. The measures include mandatory quarantine measures for all international arrivals and the suspension of visa-free travel to Ireland (with limited exceptions) for nationals of South Africa and all countries in South America. All passengers arriving in Ireland are required to provide a negative COVID-19 test result pre-departure.

Portugal | The government extended the nationwide lockdown until mid-February and announced curbs on international travel.

Switzerland | Individuals who enter Switzerland after February 8, 2021, from a high-risk country have to present a negative PCR test result that is no more than 72 hours old. In addition to the negative PCR test result, travelers will have to quarantine for 10 days upon arrival. The quarantine requirement may be shortened to 7 days with proof of another negative antigen rapid test or PCR test.

The United Kingdom | On Wednesday, parliament announced new public health measures to slow the spread of COVID-19 and prevent any other mutations from entering the country. Travelers without a valid reason for traveling will be denied and may be fined. The list of travel exemptions is under review so that only exceptional causes are permitted. Travelers from any of the 30 countries that the UK has imposed an international travel ban will have to self-quarantine at a government-designated hotel for 10 days. Read more here.

We will continue to send updates as more COVID-19-related news is available. If you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or in past updates or want to hear more about a different topic, just reply to let us know. If you have specific questions, please contact your employer or EIG attorney.