EIG US and Global COVID Update | March 2, 2021

With our mission to uncomplicate the complicated, we’ve always thought of our work in immigration as people-first. Our goal is for these updates to make sense of the changes happening across the world. Please share these updates with your colleagues who may find this information helpful, too.

International Updates

The Czech Republic | The state of emergency has been extended to at least March 28, 2021. Starting March 1, the country is under a partial lockdown, which will significantly restrict movement between districts unless for work or essential services. Anyone out of their home must have a written confirmation.

Czech embassies and consulates continue to offer limited operations. Permits are restricted to essential travel (work reasons for highly qualified employees eligible for Blue Cards or employee cards as a part of a special program announced by the Czech government; certain family reunification cases, etc.).

Third-country nationals may enter only for essential business or personal reasons. A negative antigen test, PCR test, or self-isolation are mandatory, depending on where the traveler is coming from.

Germany | Individuals crossing the border between the French region of Moselle and Germany will have to provide a negative COVID-19 test taken within the previous 48 hours. Germany has similar border controls in place with Austria and the Czech Republic.

Israel | Citizens returning to Israel can now choose between staying at a quarantine hotel or wearing a monitoring bracelet that will alert authorities if the isolation period at home is broken.

Japan | The rescheduled 2020 Summer Olympics are set to take place in July 2021. Participating athletes can enter Japan after the emergency declaration is lifted on March 7.

Spain | The government has extended the travel restrictions from July 17. Third countries exempted from travel restrictions to the EU are Australia, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, and China, Hong Kong SAR, Macao SAR.

The Ministry of Health has published an updated list of countries considered areas of risk whose travelers shall undertake a COVID-19 test before traveling to Spain. The list, which is valid from March 1 – 14, 2021, includes Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland (with regional exceptions), France (with regional exceptions), Germany, Greece (with regional exceptions), Hungary, Ireland, Italy (with regional exceptions), Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway (with regional exceptions), Poland, Portugal (with regional exceptions), Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Sweden. For more information >>

  • Travel restrictions related to Brazil, South Africa, and the UK:

    • Order PCM/164/2021, extended until March 16, limits flights and ships between the UK and Spain and flights between Brazil, South Africa, and Spain. Spanish or Andorran citizens and residents, state aircraft, cargo, humanitarian, medical, and emergency workers are exempt. 

      • Specific to Brazil and South Africa, travelers transiting through Spain to a non-Schengen country with less than a 24-hour stop and not exiting the Spanish airport’s transit area are also exempt. 

        • Travelers must complete a 10-day quarantine period after their arrival to Spain. This requirement may be shortened if, on day 7, the person undertakes a COVID-19 test with a negative result.
  • Travel restrictions related to Portugal: the land border controls are extended until March 16, 2021.