EIG COVID-19 Update | June 17, 2020

With our mission to uncomplicate the complicated, we’ve always thought of our work in immigration as people-first. Our goal is for these emails to make sense of the changes happening across the world. Please share these updates with your colleagues who may find this information helpful, too.

Canada/Mexico/US | The US, Canada, and Mexico have agreed to extend the restrictions at their shared border until at least July 21. Essential workers are still permitted to cross.
Canada Case Update: 360 new cases, -17 daily change, Last updated: 2020/6/17 3:00 PM CEST
Mexico Case Update: 3,427 new cases, -720 daily change, Last updated: 2020/6/17 3:00 PM CEST
US Case Update: 18,514 new cases, -3,240 daily change, Last updated: 2020/6/17 3:00 PM CEST

Germany | The government is extending the ban on large events and gatherings until the end of October.
Case Update: 345 new cases, -33 daily change, Last updated: 2020/6/17 3:00 PM CEST

Poland | In an update from the government, Poland will re-open for international flights, but only from the European Union, EEA, and Switzerland. The United Kingdom, Sweden, and Portugal are excluded from the list, and flights from these countries will continue to be restricted.
International flights from countries other than the EU (minus UK, Sweden, and Portugal), EEA, and Switzerland will remain restricted until June 30.
Case Update: 407 new cases, 11 daily change, Last updated: 2020/6/17 3:00 PM CEST

Singapore | The Minister of Manpower (MOM) announced changes to the Stay Home Notice (SHN) requirements. These changes will become effective today, June 17, 2020.

  • Singaporeans, permanent residents and long-term pass holders entering Singapore from  Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Hong Kong, Japan, Macao, Mainland China, New Zealand, Republic of Korea, Taiwan, Vietnam and those who stayed in these countries in the last consecutive 14 days prior to their entry will be allowed to serve their stay-home notice at home, either alone or only with family members.

  • Those entering Singapore from countries that are not on the list below will be required to serve their 14-day stay-home notice at dedicated government facilities.

  • The cost for the facility will no longer be absorbed by the Government. Employers will be responsible for the costs of the 14-day stay at the dedicated SHN facility ($2,000 including GST) and COVID-19 test (up to $200 including GST).

  • All inbound travelers will be required to take a COVID-19 test before their SHN is over. They will be informed of their test slot by SMS.
    Case Update: 151 new cases, -63 daily change, Last updated: 2020/6/17 3:00 PM CEST

Sweden | From June 30, the government will lift its advice against non-essential travel to Belgium, Croatia, France, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, and Switzerland.
“For other countries, the advice (against non-essential travel) still applies. Countries outside the EU and Schengen will be extended to August 31,” said the Minister for Foreign Affairs.
Case Update: 940 new cases, 171 daily change, Last updated: 2020/6/17 3:00 PM CEST

In the most recent Immigration Nerds podcast, Harvard Business School professor and author, William Kerr joins us to talk about his book, The Gift of Global Talent: How Migration Shapes Business, Economy & Society. Professor Kerr’s research focuses on entrepreneurial management, specifically on how companies and economies explore new opportunities to generate growth. This discussion explores the global race for talent and how countries and businesses compete for high-skilled migrants, and immigration’s role in catalyzing U.S. innovation.

We will continue to send updates daily or as more COVID-19-related news is available. If you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or in past updates or want to hear more about a different topic, just reply to let us know. If you have specific questions, please contact your employer or EIG attorney.