EIG COVID-19 Update | July 1, 2020

With our mission to uncomplicate the complicated, we’ve always thought of our work in immigration as people-first. Our goal is for these emails to make sense of the changes happening across the world. Please share these updates with your colleagues who may find this information helpful, too.

In today’s Bloomberg LawCOVID-19 is impacting the ability of global businesses to plan for hiring foreign talent. Erickson Immigration Group attorneys, Zara Najam and Salman Cheema, say several limiting factors are making it impractical for companies to complete proper immigration procedures in a timely manner and they offer strategies for the ongoing sponsorship of foreign talent or for obtaining exemptions for their work permit/visa holders.

Bonne fête du Canada to our colleagues, clients, and friends! #CanadaDay

International Updates

European Union | On Tuesday, a day before the July 1 reopen date, the European Union officially announced the list of countries deemed “safe” for non-essential travel into the EU bloc.

As of July 1, the list of permitted countries for business and leisure travel includes Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, and Uruguay. China is provisionally included in the “safe list” if EU travelers are also allowed into China.

Notably not included in the list is the United States. The bloc will review the list every 14 days and requires 65% of the member states to approve.
A full summary of the new plan, and the exceptions, is available at this link.

Austria | The government has issued travel warnings for the non-EU, Western Balkan countries Albania, Bosnia, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, and Serbia.
Case Update: 111 confirmed cases. Last updated: 2020/7/1 6:00 PM CES

Brazil | The current air, land, and sea travel suspension is being extended another 30 days to July 30 with some exceptions. Air travel is now permitted for foreign nationals holding a short-stay visit visa, or with a visit visa waiver, for business, artistic, or sporting activities; or temporary visas for work, research, teaching, study, investment, or family reunion. Prior to boarding, these travelers must present a medical declaration certifying they are not infected by COVID-19 and document evidence of the reasons for the trip.

The restriction exceptions still apply to Brazilian citizens, permanent and temporary residents, government and international foreign employees, the immediate family of Brazilian citizens, passengers in transit, and foreign nationals with government approval to enter.
Case Update: 24,052 confirmed cases. Last updated: 2020/7/1 6:00 PM CEST

Canada | The government is extending the global travel ban until July 31 and the 14-day self-isolation/quarantine requirement until at least August 31. Both were set to expire on June 30.  Toronto mayor John Tory has asked the city council to make masks mandatory in public indoor spaces. If passed, this will go into effect on July 7.
Case Update: 668 confirmed cases. Last updated: 2020/7/1 6:00 PM CEST

Lebanon | The international airport hs reopened for commercial travel at a limited or reduced capacity after a more than three-month shutdown.
Case Update: 33 confirmed cases. Last updated: 2020/7/1 6:00 PM CEST

Spain | The shared border with Portugal is now reopened after closing on March 16.
Case Update: 301 confirmed cases. Last updated: 2020/7/1 6:00 PM CEST

Switzerland | The government will require individuals returning to Switzerland from high-risk zones to quarantine. The Federal Office of Public Health will maintain a list of high-risk countries.
Case Update: 62 confirmed cases. Last updated: 2020/7/1 6:00 PM CEST

Turkey | The government has asked the EU to reconsider Turkey for the list of “safe” countries for non-essential, business, and leisure travel.
“The measures Turkey has taken to combat the coronavirus pandemic, as well as her efforts and success in this respect, are evident,” said ministry spokesman Hami Aksoy.
Case Update: 1,293 confirmed cases. Last updated: 2020/7/1 6:00 PM CEST

The United States | New York Governor Andrew Cuomo has added eight additional states to the list of those from which travelers to New York will be required to quarantine for 14 days.  They are California, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada, and Tennessee.
Case Update: 35,757 confirmed cases. Last updated: 2020/7/1 6:00 PM CEST

We will continue to send updates daily or as more COVID-19-related news is available. If you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or in past updates or want to hear more about a different topic, just reply to let us know. If you have specific questions, please contact your employer or EIG attorney.