DHS Extends the Re-Registration Period for TPS for Certain Countries

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) is extending from 60 days to 18 months the period to re-register for Temporary Protected Status (TPS) under the designations of El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua, and Sudan.

The 18-month re-registration period under the designation of:

  • El Salvador now runs through March 9, 2025;
  • Haiti now runs through Aug. 3, 2024;
  • Honduras now runs through July 5, 2025;
  • Nepal now runs through June 24, 2025;
  • Nicaragua now runs through July 5, 2025; and
  • Sudan now runs through April 19, 2025.

This re-registration extension will allow TPS beneficiaries to submit Form I-821, Application for Temporary Protected Status, and Form I-765, Application for Employment Authorization, at any time during the 18-month extensions of the TPS designations of these six countries.

DHS will publish a Federal Register notice for this re-registration extension soon.

Erickson Insights and Analysis

Note that this announcement does not change the previously announced extensions of the TPS designations for these six countries, and it does not change the eligibility requirements. It extends the period when existing beneficiaries may re-register for their benefits.

Erickson Immigration Group will continue to monitor developments and share updates as more news is available. Please contact your employer or EIG attorney if you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or case-specific questions.