DHS Designates Temporary Protected Status for Burma

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) has designated Temporary Protected Status for Burma.

On Monday, May 24, DHS published a Federal Register notice (FRN) to designate Burma for Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for 18 months, effective May 25, 2021, through Nov. 25, 2022. In March, Secretary of Homeland Security Alejandro N. Mayorkas announced that Burma would be designated for TPS.

What is the Impact?

  • An estimated 1,600 Burmese nationals (or individuals having no nationality who last habitually resided in Burma) who have been continuously residing in the United States since March 11, 2021, and continuously physically present in the United States since May 25, 2021, can file initial applications to obtain TPS.
  • Applicants may also be eligible to apply for TPS-related Employment Authorization Documents (EADs) and for travel authorization.


Currently, the following countries are designated for TPS: Burma (Myanmar), El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua, Somalia,  South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Venezuela, Yemen.


Erickson Immigration Group will continue to send updates as more news is available. If you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or case-specific questions, please contact your employer or EIG attorney