Costa Rica to Permit Longer Stays for Certain Countries

Effective September 8, 2023, a new law has increased the maximum stay period for nationals in the 60 countries in “Group One” from 90 days to 180 days.

Group One countries include Australia, Canada, Israel, Japan,  Singapore, South Africa, United Kingdom, United States, most European countries and several South and Central American countries.

The 30-day stay for nationals of countries in groups two, three and four remains unchanged.

The new law has not changed the 90-day maximum period for using a foreign driving licence in Costa Rica.

Erickson Insights and Analysis

Erickson Immigration Group will continue to monitor developments and share updates as more news is available. Please contact your employer or EIG attorney if you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or case-specific questions.