Canada Expands Visa-Free Travel to 13 Additional Countries

On Tuesday, June 6, the IRCC announced that citizens of the following countries can now apply for an eTA instead of obtaining a visa to travel to Canada by air:

Visa-Free Countries Include:
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Costa Rica
  • Morocco
  • Panama
  • Philippines
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Seychelles
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uruguay

Effective June 6, travelers from these countries who have either held a Canadian visa in the last 10 years or who currently hold a valid United States non-immigrant visa can now apply for an eTA instead of a visa when traveling to Canada by air.

Individuals who already have a valid visa can continue to use it to travel to Canada. Those who are not eligible for an eTA, or who are traveling to Canada by means other than air (for example, by car, bus, train, and boat—including by cruise ship), will still need a visitor visa. Travelers can visit to find out whether they’re eligible for an eTA and how to apply for one.


An eTA, which costs CAD 7, is electronically linked to a traveller’s passport. It is valid for up to five years or until the passport expires, whichever comes first.

Visa-free air travel makes it faster, easier, and more affordable for thousands of travelers to visit Canada for up to six months for either business or leisure. Expanding visa-free entry will also divert thousands of applications from Canada’s visa caseload, expediting the overall processing of visa applications, which will benefit all visa applicants.

Erickson Insights

Erickson Immigration Group will continue to share updates as more news is available. If you have questions about anything we’re reporting or case-specific questions, please contact your employer or EIG attorney.