In late March, the government announced that travel to Ireland from specified countries and regions would require a mandatory hotel quarantine.

As of June 8 at 4 am, the Minister of Health is including Egypt, Sudan, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, and Trinidad and Tobago to the list of designated States for the purposes of mandatory hotel quarantine.

The complete list of designated countries is:
  • Africa: Angola, Botswana, Burundi, Cape Verde, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Egypt, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe
  • Asia: Afghanistan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, India, Maldives, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Sri Lanka, The Philippines, United Arab Emirates
  • Europe: Turkey
  • North America: Canada, Costa Rica, Panama
  • South America: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela
All Passengers Arriving in Ireland must:
  • Complete a COVID-19 Passenger Locator Form
  • Provide evidence of ‘negative’ or ‘not detected’ results from a COVID-19 RT-PCR test taken within 72 hours of arrival
  • Travelers from non-designated states, a 14-day quarantine must be carried out at the address indicated on the Passenger Locator Form. This quarantine may be ended early if after day 5 a traveler tests ‘negative’ or ‘not detected’ with a COVID-19 RT-PCR test.


Erickson Immigration Group will continue to send updates as more news is available. If you have questions about anything we’re reporting above or case-specific questions, please contact your employer or EIG attorney.