Type in your search and press enter

Spain Updates and Extends Travel Restrictions

March 29, 2021

The Spanish government has extended the public health order first put in effect on July 17, 2020, amending the criteria for the temporary non-essential travel restrictions from third countries to EU and Schengen associated countries and terminating the Order INT/1236/2020 (December 22), which established the criteria for the temporary access by land to the Schengen Space through the entrance control point based in Gibraltar. 

Extension of Travel Restrictions | The current travel restrictions apply to travelers proceeding from third countries until April 30, 2021. Land borders to enter Spain through Ceuta and Melilla will be maintained temporarily closed.

The following third-country travelers are exempt:

  • Residents in the EU, Schengen associated States, Andorra, Monaco, the Vatican (Holy See), or San Marino while traveling to this country providing documentary evidence.
  • Holders of a long-term visa issued by a Member State or Schengen associated State to which they are traveling.
  • Healthcare and elderly care professionals as well as health researchers to undertake their work activity.
  • Personnel engaged in the transport of goods, sea, and flight crew required to carry out air transport activities.
  • Members of the diplomatic missions, consular posts, international and military organisms, civil protection, and humanitarian organizations for the performance of their official duties.
  • Students undertaking their studies in the Member States or the Schengen Associated States, holders of the corresponding visa/ permit and medical coverage, provided they are traveling to the country where they carry out their studies and the entry is undertaken during the academic year or 15 days prior its commencement.
  • Highly qualified employees whose activity is mandatory, cannot be postponed or undertaken remotely. This category includes participants in sports competitions taking place in Spain. These circumstances shall be documented.
  • Persons traveling for imperative family reasons duly accredited.
  • Persons who provide documentary evidence of force majeure or necessity, or whose entry is permitted on humanitarian grounds.
  • Residents of the exempted listed countries, traveling directly from these countries, transiting through countries included in the list, or transiting through international airports located in countries not included in the list.

United Kingdom Travel Restriction | The current travel restrictions for passengers traveling by air or sea are in effect until March 30, (6:00pm) and will no longer be extended.

Gibraltar Border RestrictionThe border access restriction to the Schengen Space is no longer in effect.

Travelers should still check the exemption categories above to determine travel eligibility.

Brazil and South Africa Flight RestrictionThe current limitation of flights between Brazil, South Africa, and Spanish airports are extended until April 13, 2021. The following traveler categories are exempt:

  • Spanish, Andorran citizens, and residents in Spain;
  • flights with a stop in the Spanish territory for non-commercial purposes, to reach a final destination
  • travelers transiting through Spain to a non-Schengen country with a less than a 24-hour stop and not exiting the transit area of the Spanish airport;
  • state flights, search and rescue services; cargo, ferry, humanitarian, medical and emergency flights; aeronautic staff required to undertake air transport business

PortugalThe land travel restrictions in place with Portugal have been extended until April 6. The following traveler categories are exempt:

  • Spanish nationals, their spouses, partners while their relationship is registered, dependents in the ascending or descending line provided they travel with them or to join them.
  • Legal residents in Spain, evidencing their regular residence, as well as students undertaking studies in Spain
  • Residents in the other Member States or the Schengen Associated States, Andorra, Monaco, The Vatican (Holy See), or San Marino traveling to their regular residence place duly evidenced.
  • Those transiting Spain or will remain in Spain for labor reasons only, including cross-border workers, health, and transport workers.
  • Travelers evidencing grounds of force majeure, need, or humanitarian reasons.
  • Foreign staff being members of the diplomatic missions, consular offices, international organizations based in Spain, provided their mobility is related to the performance of official duties
  • Travelers taking part in State travels, law-enforcement agencies, Air forces to undertake their duties.


Quarantine Requirements |From April 4, the 10-day quarantine period applies to travelers from Brazil, South Africa, Republic of Botswana, Union of Comoros, Republic of Ghana, Republic of Kenya, Republic of Mozambique, United Republic of Tanzania, Republic of Zambia, Republic of Zimbabwe, Republic of Peru, and the Republic of Colombia.

This quarantine may be shortened if, on day 7, the person undertakes a Covid-19 test with a negative result.

During the quarantine period, individuals are only allowed out to buy food, pharmaceutical, and essential products, to attend health centers, services, and facilities, or force majeure or in need.


Health measures- COVID 19 TEST

The Ministry of Health has updated its list of countries considered “areas of risk” whose travelers must undertake a COVID-19 test prior to traveling to Spain: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark (except the Faroe Islands and Greenland), Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Norway (except the regions of Møre og Romsdal and Trøndelag), Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden.

This list goes into effect on March 29 — April 11, and will be reviewed every 15 days.


Third Countries Exempted from Travel Restrictions to the EUResidents of the following countries are currently exempted from travel restrictions: Australia, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, China, Hong Kong SAR, Macao SAR